THE NEW FOCUS

Personally, I don’t find a lot of value in stocking up on a full log of Mists of Pandaria daily quests to turn in when the servers switch over to Warlords. Nothing against those colleagues and friends of mine who swear by it or their reasons for doing it, but it doesn’t work for me, and here’s why:

  • I don’t feel an overwhelming need to give a kiss goodnight to the daily content. It was good content and I enjoyed it well enough to accumulate thousands of Lesser Charms on my main, but I can’t say that I’m super-attached to it. Moreover, it’s not going anywhere.
  • I’ve got limited play-time. Trying to stack up a full log of dailies is time-consuming, and when the XP and gold rewards simply don’t compare to the XP/gold per hour of doing the Tanaan experience (especially given how practiced I am with that content from doing it repeatedly on the beta) it makes a lot more sense from an XP/gold gain perspective to just get started with Tanaan Jungle from minute one instead of flitting about Pandaria turning in quests.
  • I’ve got seven level 90 characters, which is by far the most I’ve ever had at max-level EVER. Even if I could somehow justify stuffing the quest log on my main to get a negligible headstart on XP gains, I know I couldn’t do it for the other six. (And I just remembered that I plan to use my boost on my gnome mage once I get the expansion, so that’ll be EIGHT. Sweet sisters of mercy.) I’m not really what you’d call an altoholic (I just like covering my bases with professions, really) but the bottom line is that it’s just not a positive ROI for the time needed.
  • I fly out tomorrow Wednesday to Los Angeles for BlizzCon and a bit of a holiday and won’t be back at my gaming rig until next Tuesday. My wife works next Wednesday, so it’s back to the grind of taking care of my son. The expansion comes out Thursday. If I was going to attempt to do a project like this instead of what I’ve been doing (farming old raids for incremental progress on old legendaries because I can actually do it now as a priest also GOLD) I’d have had to start on it weeks ago.

Again, this isn’t meant to slight folks who a) have time on their hands, b) feel an attachment to the content and want to give a send-off, c) REALLY LIKE DAILIES, d) maximize their gold gains at every turn, e) aren’t disappearing to SoCal for a week-long drinking binge, or f) do what they want b/c it’s a fuckin’ game and they’ll play however they like. The game has latitude to support a lot of play styles, and it’s not my job to tell people what they should do with their play time, since I certainly wouldn’t appreciate it if someone said “you need to do this with the slivers of time you set aside to game.”

I just wanted to throw out why I won’t be doing this, and affirming that my focus on November 13th will be collecting heads in Warlords of Draenor. So long, Pandaria. I’ll likely visit for brews and mounts and other stuff when I run out of stuff to do on Draenor. /wave

Leave a Reply

